legit?

Anything else goes in here.

Moderator: General Mods

legit?

Postby Prof. Fett » 05 Feb 2010, 09:35

basically, went to this site www.sakis.co.uk to order some jeans. put it in my shopping basket of the virtual realm, and I do every single stage in the virtual checkout apart from the last one; credit card details. I was sidetracked by a phonecall and left it for a bit, then some blocked number rang me (one of the boxes was for a phone number on the order form) claiming he was from the company, saying I didn't complete my order. which I found to say the least, a bit dodgy.

any ideas on it's legitimacy? is there a way to find out if it's a registered company?

jah bless you all x
signature.
Prof. Fett
Promo
Promo
 
Posts: 630
Joined: 08 Mar 2008, 16:08
Location: Cambridge

Re: legit?

Postby neo » 05 Feb 2010, 14:01

Haha, either dodgy or desperate!
x
User avatar
neo
White Label
White Label
 
Posts: 1034
Joined: 13 Mar 2008, 02:56

Re: legit?

Postby Stu. » 06 Feb 2010, 18:12

some companies have done this with me and they didn't rip me off i think they are just trying to make a sale
User avatar
Stu.
White Label
White Label
 
Posts: 1543
Joined: 07 Mar 2008, 17:36
Location: Newcastle

Re: legit?

Postby kz » 06 Feb 2010, 19:08

To be honest if a companies doing that then it doesn't seem to me like they're trying to blag you... as usually there'd be a lack of any type of contact. However, that would piss me off a bit so I probably wouldn't order from them anyway.
PSN ID: KayZee46

Image
User avatar
kz
Dubplate
Dubplate
 
Posts: 3453
Joined: 07 Mar 2008, 17:12
Location: Dirty South (East)

Re: legit?

Postby Alan Royal » 08 Feb 2010, 10:52

I've had this before, sometimes when you don't run the order through it books out stock as being sold on the system - so while you're thinking about it someone else might come on the site to buy the same thing and it looks like it's out of stock.

They have a full address and landline number on the site, looks legit.
User avatar
Alan Royal
Admin
Admin
 
Posts: 3603
Joined: 05 Mar 2008, 13:36
Location: London

Re: legit?

Postby Greg » 08 Feb 2010, 12:26

Legit. http://wck2.companieshouse.gov.uk/a9941 ... ompdetails

When you submit the billing address part of the checkout, you're essentially creating an account and your details are saved, hence why you got the phone call.

They should have a privacy policy though, they're using software called Clicktale to record video of how you use the site (sensitive data like credit card or email isn't visible though) and there's no mention of it. [/e-commerce geekery]
You have perceived the resonance..
User avatar
Greg
Promo
Promo
 
Posts: 641
Joined: 07 Mar 2008, 23:28
Location: Bournemouth

Re: legit?

Postby Prof. Fett » 09 Feb 2010, 01:34

You better be right greg, otherwise I'll hunt you down and break your legs :)

In all seriousness though, cheers for the info. Hope I wake up with money and identity still intact.
signature.
Prof. Fett
Promo
Promo
 
Posts: 630
Joined: 08 Mar 2008, 16:08
Location: Cambridge

Re: legit?

Postby Faiizow » 09 Feb 2010, 03:55

I've always thought it was me being paranoid/stupid that a website could be able to record your keystrokes when entering a form or something, especially when you decide to use fake details for a certain websites that mandate personal details which you'll probably only use once.

That's pretty fucked knowing they can do that now.
User avatar
Faiizow
12 Inch
12 Inch
 
Posts: 333
Joined: 26 Mar 2008, 18:36

Re: legit?

Postby Sp00n » 09 Feb 2010, 15:27

You would have had to click "next" or something in order for the details to be cached/stored, which it looks like you did by saying that you did every step except pay.
Image

LRG™ Enthusiast - http://www.iamsimon.co.uk
User avatar
Sp00n
Banned
 
Posts: 873
Joined: 08 Mar 2008, 20:19
Location: 127.0.0.1


Return to General Chat

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron